Student Trustee Elections


The Halton District School Board Student Senate is pleased to announce secondary school students Ethan Ruggiero and Cindy Wang as the Board’s Student Trustees for the 2022-2023 school year.


A Student Trustee is a representative of the students in their board at the board table. In this case, they are the representatives of the Halton District School Board. They vocalize the opinions of the students and strive to make change using the student voice.

There are three main responsibilities for Student Trustees:

  • Running Student Senate (once a month from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.)

  • Attending Board Meetings (twice a month from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.)

  • Attending the Ontario Student Trustee Association’s (OSTA-AECO) conferences​, as well as being an active member of the organization​

Student Trustees have two seats on the Halton District School Board. These students provide the student voice on issues at Board meetings, Board events, conferences and much more. Student Trustees also chair the Halton District School Board Student Senate composed of students from schools across Halton. As representatives of the region's student voice, Student Trustees can become members of the Ontario Student Trustee's Association (OSTA)​. OSTA enables students to provide input on Ontario youth needs to those who set up the education mandate.

2022-2023 HDSB Student Trustee Elections

Student Trustees Vandy Widyalankara ( and Kacy Bao ( are very excited to announce the 15 (fifteen) passionate leaders in our school board for this year’s election of the 2022-2023 Student Trustees. Below you will find each candidate's poster and response to the question

"How are you a leader in your daily life? "


Check out each Candidate's Poster and Response below

Alisha Mohanty Poster 2022-2023

Alisha Mohanty

Alisia Noorali Poster 2022-2023

Alisia Noorali

Allen Yan Poster 2022-2023

Allen Yan

Bilal Khan Poster 2022-2023

Bilal Khan

Caroline Huang Poster 2022-2023

Caroline Huang

Cindy Wang Poster 2022-2023

Cindy Wang

Claire Jung Poster 2022-2023

Claire Jung

Ethan Ruggiero Poster 2022-2023

Ethan Ruggiero

Jiya Anadkat Poster 2022-2023

Jiya Anadkat

John Seong Poster 2022-2023

John Seong

Noor Grewal Poster 2022-2023.pdf

Noor Grewal

Rachel Strathdee Poster 2022-2023

Rachel Strathdee

Shrena Sribalan Poster 2022-2023

Shrena Sribalan

Swayam Parekh Poster 2022-2023

Swayam Parekh

Talia Mechli Poster 2022-2023

Talia Mechli


All students in Grades 7 - 12 will get an email with a link and unique code you can use to vote for 2 candidates.

The window period for voting will be from 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM on Thursday, February 24, 2022.